A Winter Day   
                                                cello, piano              
Available from Oxford University Press

     This five-movement work celebrates the long Canadian winter setting texts by Sara Teasdale, Lucy Maud Montgomery (of 'Anne of Green Gables' fame), and Melville Cane. Each movement depicts a different time of day, beginning with the cold darkness before dawn ('Timid Star') and concluding with the evening turning into dusk and then darkness ('Snow Toward Evening'). The music conjures up vivid images of a cold and crisp winter, and of swirling, dancing snowflakes.

Recorded by the Kingston Chamber Choir, Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Gordon Sinclair, Artistic Director
Jeff Hamacher, cello
Clare Gordon, piano

1. Timid Star.mp3

2. Winter Dawn.mp3

3. Into Morning.mp3

4. A Winter Day.mp3

5. Snow Toward Evening.mp3

Alice                                                                   piano                                                                     $2.50

     Alice is a quirky, light-hearted celebration of the Alice books by Lewis Carroll. The singers' tale of an encounter with the White Rabbit, the Cheshire Cat, and the Hatter is underpinned by a lively and characterful piano part. Spirited, fun, and with great potential for dramatic performance, this piece will be a memorable addition to any concert.

      Audio Sample  (SSA version)    

God Will Give Orders/Sweet Child                piano, cello, djembe   Available from Oxford University Press               

     This evocative anthem, from the larger work Snow Angel, is a piece of two halves. Opening with a haunting cello line, the first section ('God Will Give Orders') is mystical and ethereal, until a vibrant figure from the djembe lifts the music into the second section ('Sweet Child'), which is uplifting and bold in character, with a distinctly African feel and an effective a cappella ending.

I Will Be With You                                           a cappella                                                                $2.50

               “If there are tears or singing, know I will be with you.”

  •             A tender and emotive text accompanied by lush harmonies
  •             Youth choir, adult choir, university choir, advanced high school choir

Sing, my Child  
                              unaccompanied with hand drum Available from Oxford University Press

     Sing, my Child sets a joyful text celebrating the beauty found all around us in everyday life. Characterized by tight harmonies and a dynamic percussion line, the buoyant 7/8 metre of the opening drives the piece forward. Lush harmonies colour the hymn-like B section as the text evolves into a call for strength despite the troubles that may come. Commissioned for a mass choir of over 700 singers, this piece is well-suited for combined choir projects or as a rousing and meaningful close to a concert.

Snow Angel                                            piano, cello, narrative        Available from Oxford University Press

     Snow Angel is an evocative five-movement choral work that explores themes of love, rebirth, and beauty through the eyes of children and the heavenly army of angels that watch over them, yearning to make a difference to their lives. The work may be performed with narration, in which three angels present their perspectives on their earthly charges. Quartel weaves a haunting and poignant cello line throughout the work, and a vibrant part for djembe in movement four, 'Sweet child', carries the listener from the ethereal and mystical realm the work predominantly inhabits into an emphatic anthem with a distinctly African feel. The musical language is emotive and pictorial, allowing performers to play an active role in the storytelling.

Wide Open Spaces                                                piano                 Available from Oxford University Press

     Commissioned for the 2015 National Conference of the American Choral Directors Association, Wide Open Spaces reflects on the journeys and adventures to be found in the wide open spaces within ourselves and the world around us. The uplifting melody is passed from the upper voices to the lower voices before the piece opens out into an expansive texture with rich harmonies. Quartel introduces a playful episode of scat singing before a resolute and final chorus brings this evocative piece to a peaceful and serene close.